Irreplaceable

My next book, entitled Irreplaceable, will be published by Hamish Hamilton and Penguin Books on June 27th, 2019. The book celebrates those imperilled places and wild species that are increasingly vanishing from our world, as well as telling the stories of the extraordinary resistance to their loss, the vital and inspiring engagement of those people who live and work amidst them. Whether it’s threatened ancient woodlands or urban meadows, vast marshlands or relict prairies, their stories are ones of defiance rather than elegy, honouring wonder, connections and community in the face of immense loss, the sustaining ties forged between people, nature and place. I’ll be updating this page as soon as the book’s cover and other details are finalised in the run-up to publication.

* * *

Publisher’s description:

For readers of George Monbiot, Mark Cocker and Robert Macfarlane – an urgent and lyrical account of endangered habitats around the globe and the people fighting to save them

All across the world, irreplaceable habitats are under threat. Unique ecosystems of plants and animals are being destroyed by human intervention. From the tiny to the vast, from prairie to meadow, and from Kent to Glasgow to India to America, they are disappearing.

Irreplaceable is a love letter to the haunting beauty of these landscapes and the rare species that call them home. But it is also a fascinating account of the human communities which form around them, uniting to save these special places from extinction.

From grassroots campaigners to professional conservationists and academics, Julian Hoffman traces local conservation efforts around the globe. And in the process, he asks what a deep emotional connection to the land offers us – culturally, socially and psychologically. In this rigorous, intimate and impassioned account, he offers a powerful call to arms in the face of unconscionable natural destruction.